What this article covers:

  • The flow creation process

  • Setting up rules

  • Mapping fields

  • Reviewing and saving your flow

The flow creation process

After clicking on your Unito Power-Up from within your Trello board, hit the big green "Create Flow" button on the top right of the pop-up window to start the flow creation process.

The first step in building your flow is choosing the blocks of work you want to sync. This might be two Trello boards or one Trello board and a secondary tool.

You can also change the flow direction from the default two-way flow to a one-way flow. This can help you create flows that fit your specific use case — such as a Trello Master Board — but often you’ll want to keep it as a two-way relationship.

Once that's done, click next and set rules for your flow.

Set up your rules

By default, Unito will sync all information between tools. If you want to change that, you can set up a rule in this tab.

Rules act as filters, sifting through all the information in your tool and picking out what you need synced to the other side. You could, for example, set up a rule to filter cards with a certain label.

That’s not all you can do with rules. Here are some of the rules you can use with Unito:

  • Excluding cards with a specific label

  • Including or excluding cards in specific lists

  • Only syncing cards assigned to a specific person

  • Only syncing a certain type of card (such as High Priority)

Mapping fields

By default, Unito will automatically match up fields that are close to each other. Trello titles, due dates, lists, and comments will sync together automatically.

But if you need to customize your field mappings, here’s a quick look at how it’s done.

Scroll down and click on Add mapping. Then pick your mappings in each dropdown.

And that’s it! That’s all it takes to create a new field mapping. Note that if you want to remap fields that are already assigned, you’ll first have to unmap them by clicking in the small trash can that pops up to the right when you hover over the mapping.

Check out our in-depth article on field mapping here.

Wrapping things up

Now that your flow direction is set, your rules are created, and you’ve customized your mappings, your flow is pretty much done. Only two things remain.

By default, new flows will only sync work items created after it. That means historical data won’t be touched. This is so you can experiment with your flow before having it affect the important data in your work management tool. When you’re ready for your flow to go live, just turn this off. From the flow creation screen, you can do this by clicking on the Include older cards and tasks button.

Finally, turn on Auto-sync so that your changes are synced automatically across your blocks.

And you’re done! Hit Create flow to set it live.

What's next?

Learn how to build a Master Board in Trello.
Learn how Trello members sync to other integrations.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?