What this article covers:

  • How changes are synced by default

  • How to sync all historical work items

  • How to choose between default settings and syncing historical work items

How are changes synced by default?

Whenever you make changes to your flow settings, we'll only apply these changes to work items that are created or updated after the change is made. There are a few reasons why we do this by default:

  • Your most important work items — those that are actively being worked on — get updated more quickly.

  • Changes in your flow settings can lead to more than a few notifications for your coworkers. By updating new and updated work items, your flows aren't flooding your teams with notifications.

  • The tools we integrate have rate limits, meaning they'll delay or stop updates if you make too many changes at once. With this setting on by default, you're less likely to hit a tool's rate limit.

In most cases, it's best to keep this default setting.

Syncing all historical work items

Sometimes, the default setting might not be right for your use case. In these situations, you can decide to have changes to your flows applied to all historical data so your updates are processed throughout your workflow.

This might be the case when changing up your rules so that the right work items can cross the tool barrier. Or maybe you're customizing your field mappings, and you absolutely need these new field settings to apply to your whole workflow.

That said, this setting can affect your flow's performance:

  • If your Unito flow needs to re-sync hundreds (or thousands) of work items, you may experience some slowness.

  • Team members will get a significant number of notifications as all historical data is updated.

  • If we're still processing the changes made in your flow and you force another flow to sync additional changes, you'll have to wait for all these changes to sync properly. This is to avoid hitting a tool's rate limits by sending too many requests at once.

Choosing between default syncing and full historical syncing

To sync all historical data, find your flow in the flow list. Click on the three little dots and click Edit. From there, click on Advanced options. You'll find an option there called Resync all. If you haven't made any changes to your flow, the Sync all cards button will be greyed out. Once you make changes to your flow, you can click on this to sync them across all historical work items.

Before you do, keep this in mind:

  • We will only sync work items up to the date set in your rules.

  • Your flow will take a significant amount of time to sync.

  • You'll get a flood of notifications, depending on the number of work items that need updating.

  • You might hit your tool's rate limit, creating significant slowdown in your tools.

If you have any questions about this setting, please don't hesitate to reach out to our product specialists.

What's next?

Getting an error message? Here's our guide to what they mean.
Check our troubleshooting guide to resolve common issues.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?