Table of contents:

The default status rule

You might have seen this rule pop up when creating a flow.

What does this rule mean? In a tool like Trello, in which cards can either be open or archived, it means only open cards will be synced from that Trello board. Archived cards won't be synced.

To change this, just click on Open, and you'll get a dropdown letting you pick another setting.

Click on Open or archived, and your Unito flow will automatically sync all Trello cards from that board.

So why is this set to Open by default? Well, the more you use your tools, the more historical data — or closed work items — you'll have. When you first launch your flow, Unito has to check through your entire project to find all the work items it needs to sync. To improve performance, we automatically set up new flows so they only look at open work items. Otherwise, you might be stuck waiting for a bit before all your data gets synced over!

Note: Syncing closed work items isn’t available during your free trial. Personal plans can sync closed work items no older than a month. There are no restrictions for Team, Company, and Enterprise plans.

The creation date rule

The next rule Unito automatically creates for each new flow is the creation date rule. It looks like this:

The date in that field will be automatically set to the day you're creating your flow. With this rule, only work items created on the same day as your flow — or after — will be synced. Any older tasks won't be synced, whether they're open or closed.

You'll notice that you can't just click on the date to change this one. But if you look to the right of the rule...

You'll see a trash can. Click on that, and you'll delete the entire rule for both sides of your flow. That means Unito won't check the date a work item was created on at all when deciding whether it should be synced or not. Your other rules will apply as normal.

Note: You can't change the creation date for this rule. If you delete the rule and re-create it, it will automatically use the date for the creation of your flow. Keep in mind that you won’t be able to add this rule after a flow’s already been launched.

Default list rules

For some tools, Unito will also create what’s called a “default list” rule when you create a new flow. Here’s what this looks like:

With this rule, any work items (in this case, Trello cards) synced to Test Board A.1 will be automatically sent to the Backlog list. This rule exists so work items always have a place to go, even if you haven’t mapped your lists.

Mapping lists tells Unito where you want a work item to go when it gets synced between projects. Using Trello as an example, you could have lists with completely different names on each board. In the field mapping step of flow creation, you can tell Unito which list corresponds with which list.

The default list rule covers those instances when lists aren’t mapped to each other. You can change that default list by clicking on the dropdown.

Note: “List” is used for brevity, but the exact term for this will change depending on the tool you’re integrating. In Asana, these are called “sections,” for instance.

Default type

Some tools, like Trello, only have one type of work item. Others have a few more. When you’re using a Unito flow to integrate one of these tools, a “default type” rule gets created. Here’s an example of this rule for a ClickUp-Jira flow:

With this rule, ClickUp tasks synced to Jira will automatically become Jira tasks, rather than a bug, epic, or story. Because Unito needs a default type rule for some flows to work properly, you can’t delete this rule when it’s been created. However, you can click on the dropdown to change the default task type.

Did this answer your question?