What this article covers:

  • What is Unito’s test mode
  • Why you should use test mode for new syncs
  • How to use test mode

What is test mode?

Test mode is a brand new Unito feature that allows you to only sync new tasks — that is, tasks created after building your test sync. 

Note: This feature is currently in beta and is not available to all users. 

Why you should use test mode for new syncs

When syncing new projects and playing around with different workflows, we always advise using test projects to avoid disrupting your team members and potentially making mistakes. 

Test mode removes that risk, allowing you to test out the sync on new tasks first and, if it goes as planned, roll it out to the rest of your workflows. You could also keep it on permanently — only newly created tasks will sync and existing workflows will never be affected. 

A secondary benefit of test mode is that it can actually speed up your new sync experiment. This is because Unito won’t have to query old tasks when deciding what to sync over. This is particularly valuable for large organizations, or teams with a large number of open tasks.  

How to use test mode

Test mode is on by default. 

You can see the time stamp on the “Options” page. Only the tasks created after this time will be covered by the sync.

Once you create your sync, a “test mode” label will be applied to that sync on the “Your Syncs” page of your Unito dashboard. 

Note: Test mode still counts towards your Unito plan. This means that anyone collaborating on these test syncs will count towards your active users

Turning off test mode

Once you have finished testing, and you're happy with how the sync is functioning, you can edit your sync and turn test mode off. Turning test mode off will mean that all existing tasks in your projects will sync based on your sync configuration.

You can also turn off test mode from the "Your syncs" page, by clicking the three dots on the right of any specific sync. 

Important: If you turn off test mode before creating a new sync, you will never be able to turn it on for that particular sync. Test mode cannot be applied retroactively to existing syncs. 

What's next?

Curious about what Unito plan is right for you? Visit our pricing page.
Ready to create your first sync? Follow these instructions.
Already a Unito user and want to try Test Mode? Log in to create a new sync.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!

Did this answer your question?