What this article covers:

  • How to map users

  • Why proper user mapping matters

Unito's Help Center is evolving. Some screenshots and guides may be a bit outdated. We're working hard to update them. Thanks for your understanding.

How to map users

You'll need to create a flow before you can map your users. But if you've already created your flow, here's how to map your users.

First, click on the avatar in the upper right corner of your screen. Then click "Members & Active users" in the drop-down menu.

You'll get a list of every user associated with your flows.

If you just have a few users, you'll probably find the ones you want right away. If not, you can use the search bar at the top of the screen.

Hover over any user and you'll see a checkbox. 

To select the users you want to merge, click on their checkbox, then click on "Merge users."

The “User Details” popup will appear, showing the users you've selected. Click on the "Save" button to merge them.

And there you have it, you’ve successfully mapped your users! They’ll be considered the same user in your flows and in your list of active users. 

The “User Details” popup also allows you to mark users as inactive in a flow by clicking the “Include as an active user” toggle. This means none of the work items they contribute to will be synced. Consult the How Does Unito Pricing Work? article to learn why you might want to do this.

Unmapping a user is simple, and done through the same popup. Place your cursor over the user you want to unmap, and a red "Remove" toggle will pop up. Click on it and that user will be unmapped.

Note: In certain tools, Unito will automatically add all of a project's members to your workspace. Only users that are marked as active users through the above toggle will be counted in your plan.

Why proper user mapping matters

Properly mapping your users ensures that assignees are synced and tracked accurately across tools. You'll also make scrolling through the active users section of your workspace much more manageable if you don't have multiple entries for each tool your coworkers are using.

Beyond this, mapping your users can affect how much you're paying for Unito. Because Unito plans are determined by the number of active users in your workspace, you might find yourself running out of active users if your coworkers' tool accounts aren't properly mapped with each other. We only count each user once no matter how many tools they're using throughout your workspace. However, their tool accounts have to be mapped together in order for this to work.

Want to know more about how Unito pricing works? Check out our guide here.

What's next?

Learn how to set up your first flow.
Learn how to map lists, statuses, and workflows.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?