Table of contents:

What is a draft flow?

When consulting your flow list, you might find a few flows with a pencil icon and the word Draft. That’s because Unito automatically saves your flows as you work on them, even if you exit the creation process. These flows aren’t live, so they won’t be affecting any of your work until you launch them. To finish creating these flows, you just need to click on the Edit draft button. You’ll be taken back to the flow so you can pick up where you left off.

Limitations and troubleshooting

Draft flows are great for showing other people what you want Unito to do for your projects without having it affect your projects right away. That said, there are a few things you should keep in mind as you use them.

Blocks of work can only be connected by one live flow

Say you’re using Unito to connect a Trello board called “Key Deliverables” with a ClickUp list called “Marketing Initiatives.” Only a single Unito flow can connect these two blocks of work at a time. You’re still able to create draft flows that connect these two blocks, but you wouldn’t be able to launch any of them.

If you want to replace an existing flow with a new one, you’d have to delete the original flow.

Anyone can edit a draft, not everyone can launch it

Anyone in your organization can make changes to a draft flow. They can customize rules, change mappings, and so on. However, not everyone can turn a draft flow into a live flow. To launch a flow, a Unito user needs access to the tool accounts used to sync changes in both tools.

Let’s take that Trello board and ClickUp list example from before. Alex created a new flow between these tools, using his own Trello and ClickUp accounts. He set up a few things but didn’t finish the process, resulting in a draft flow. Later, Steve logs in to Unito and tries to launch the flow. He has accounts in Trello and ClickUp, but not the accounts used to sync changes. That means he won’t be able to launch this flow. Only Alex can.

Did this answer your question?