What this article covers:

How to duplicate a flow from the flow list

1. Sign into Unito and go to the Flows screen.

2. Click the three dots on the right side of the flow you want to duplicate. Select “Duplicate” from the dropdown menu.

3. This will bring you into the flow creation screen. Choose your blocks from among your connected tools.

4. Rules will populate automatically based on the original flow you duplicated.

Note: Unito will let you know if any of the duplicated rules are not accessible by the blocks of the new flow

5. Field mappings will also be automatically pulled from the original flow (so “label” maps to “tag”) but not the actual values in those fields (so not “red label” maps to “blue tag”) unless they share a name. It’s important that you go in and map the values and make any other adjustments you might need. 

6. Publish your duplicate flow!

How to duplicate flows from the workflow designer

If your workflow has more than one flow, you may notice a pop-up when you click on the plus sign to edit your flow.

To duplicate your flow, you just need to click on Start from an existing flow. From there, you can pick the flow you want to start from and then follow the same steps as above.

The rules and field mappings from the original flow will be automatically duplicated. All that's needed is to quickly review the settings to make sure they match your flow, and you're done!

Note: To be able to duplicate a flow, at least one tool and one block must be the same for each flow. For instance, if you duplicate an Asana to Trello flow, the duplicated flow must include either Asana or Trello and the associated block from the original flow.

What is and isn't duplicated

Your rules and custom field mappings will be automatically copied when you duplicate your flow, as well as flow direction. So if your original flow is set up to sync in one direction, your duplicated flow will automatically copy this over.

Here are a few things flow duplication can't do quite yet:

  • Duplicate fields with multiple values, such as labels, tags, status, and sections.

  • Duplicate auto-sync status. Duplicated flows will automatically be switched to only sync new items until you change this.

  • You can't change the tool account used in a duplicated flow.

What can and can't be changed

When you duplicate a flow, some of the information associated with it will be "locked," meaning you won't be able to change it.

Here, you'll see that, on the left side of the flow, the tool, tool account, and block of work can't be changed. That's because one block of work has to stay the same in order for a flow to duplicate properly. That said, you can change the block of work on the right, though the tool and tool account have to stay the same.

Other things to keep in mind

You won't be able to duplicate a flow if you're not the user who added its blocks of work to your workspace. For instance, imagine a flow already exists between Asana project A and Trello board B, which were both added to your workspace by User X. You won't be able to duplicate it. However, if you're the one who added these blocks to your workspace, you can duplicate them no problem. This is so your data stays secure no matter what.

Additionally, only the flow owner (the person who created the original flow) can duplicate it.

What’s next?

Learn how to set up your first flow.
Learn what Unito syncs between tools.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?