We've launched an evolution of our product, so some of the terminology and guidance in this article might be a bit out of date, and we're working hard to update it. You can learn more about our new workflow offering here, brush up on the new terminology here, and find out how to build your first workflow here.

What this article covers:

  • How to map users and assignees
  • How to un-map a user
  • Mapping users at the workspace level

Note: Mapping users at the workspace level is a new feature as of January 22nd 2020. If you signed up for Unito on or after that date, you'll need to scroll down to the "How to Map Users at the Workspace Level" section to learn how to map users. If you signed up before January 22nd, you won't have access to this feature yet, but don't worry! We're working hard to get it to you. 

When syncing your favorite tools, it's important that all users are accurately mapped together across both tools so that you have proper assignee synchronization.

This way, for example, if you assign a work item to a user in a tool, you'll be sure that it will be assigned to the same user in the synced tool.

The good news is that Unito automatically maps your users based on their email addresses. So if your users are using the same email address on both tools, they will be mapped automatically by Unito.

It may be possible that some users are not using the same email address on both tools, or that you simply want to make modifications to your user mappings on your own terms. In that case, there is a feature that allows you to see & update your user mapping configurations. Here is how it works.

How to map users and assignees

In the Unito app, go to your flow settings by choosing the EDIT option:

Under the settings menu, select the "Map Fields" tab, and click the "Map Users" sub-tab:

You can find all of your unmapped users on top and users that are already mapped just below.

We've added search fields to help you quickly find a user from within your tools.

Mapping a user then becomes easy. Under "Unmapped Users", find the user you want to map on the left side, and search for its equivalent on the right side. Let's say for example that I want to map Hannah:

How to unmap a user

Unmapping a user is even simpler, you just have to click on the double-arrow between two users and click on the red button. The unmapped user will then appear in the "Unmapped Users" section. You can repeat this as many times as needed and configure your user mappings as you see fit.

Once you are done, make sure you click on SAVE AND SYNC in order for the new user mapping settings to take effect.

Mapping users at the workspace level

If you signed up for Unito on or after January 22nd, you can map users at the workspace level instead of doing it flow-by-flow.

You'll need to create a flow before you can map your users. But if you've already created your flow, here's how to map your users.

First, click on the avatar in the upper right corner of your screen. Then click "About my Workspace" in the drop-down menu.

Once in your workspace, click on "People." You'll get a list of every user associated with your flows.

If you just have a few users, you'll probably find the ones you want right away. If not, you can use the search bar at the top of the screen.

Hover over any user and you'll see a checkbox. 

To select the users you want to merge, click on their checkbox, then click on "Merge users."

The “User Details” popup will appear, showing the users you've selected. Click on the "Save" button to merge them.

And there you have it, you’ve successfully mapped your users! They’ll be considered the same user in your flows and in your list of active users. 

The “User Details” popup also allows you to mark users as inactive in a flow by clicking the “Include as an active user” toggle. This means none of the work items they contribute to will be synced. Note that it can take up to 30 days for this change to take effect. Consult the How Does Unito Pricing Work? article to learn why you might want to do this.

Unmapping a user is simple, and done through the same popup. Place your cursor over the user you want to unmap, and a red "Remove" toggle will pop up. Click on it and that user will be unmapped.

Remember that this feature is being rolled out progressively, so this section only applies to new users. If you don't have access to this feature, don't worry! We're working on getting this out to you as soon as we can.

What's next?

Learn how to set up your first flow.
Learn how to map lists, statuses, and workflows.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?