What this article covers:

  • How to remove duplicate cards

We've launched an evolution of our product, so some of the terminology and guidance in this article might be a bit out of date, and we're working hard to update it. You can learn more about our new workflow offering here, brush up on the new terminology here, and find out how to build your first workflow here.

Sometimes when you create a flow between many Trello boards, if you don't watch your settings, you can end up with all of the cards from all of the boards synced to every other board. It can be a real mess! Fortunately, you can easily clean up duplicated cards by applying some rules.

How to remove duplicate cards

  • Create a brand new label in both of your synced blocks. Its name doesn't matter, but it has to be unused. A name like "cleanup" is a good example.
  • Go to the Unito dashboard, and click on the name of your flow to customize it.
  • Under the Rules tab, add a rule to filter for "only sync cards with any of the following labels" under your first tool. Enter your brand new "cleanup" label. (If there are any labels in this field, take note of them and remove them. You can add them back after the cleanup!)
  • Do the same for your second tool. Add in your "cleanup" label under a new rule for "only sync cards with any of the following labels".
  • Save and sync!

That's it! Because our rules are dynamic, we will see with this that none of the cards we created match the new criteria (since your new "cleanup" label hasn't been applied to anything), and as a result, we'll archive all of the cards we've created that don't match that.

There are a few things to note with this method:

  • This method will not close original cards; only ones that Unito has created. This is in accordance with our content deletion policy.
  • This method will not work for duplicates that originate from Wrike or Basecamp.
    This is because neither Wrike nor Basecamp have labels that we can filter by, which means we can't close items that don't match the filters. 
  • If items went from a tool with labels into Wrike/Basecamp, we should be able to clean that up if you simply apply a label filtering rule to the other side, as mentioned above; we just won't be able to clean up items which originated in Wrike or Basecamp.

As always, if you're uncomfortable with the above method, or have questions/concerns, feel free to contact us! You can just click the little green button in the bottom right corner to speak with us directly, or send us an email at [email protected].

What's next?

Learn how to set up a Trello master board.
Learn how to sync custom fields in Trello.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?