What this article covers

  • Auto syncs: what they are, how many you get, and how to use them
  • Manual syncs: what they are, how many you get, and how to use them

After you’ve completed your first sync or two you may have noticed that, by default, automatic syncing is enabled. But did you know that you can sync your projects manually as well? This section will guide you through the differences between manual and auto syncs so you can get the most of our service!

Auto syncs

Like its name suggests, auto syncs update on their own without your input. This means that you could use your tools freely and not worry about having to sync them yourself or even bother opening the Unito interface unless adjustments need to be made. They are perfect for busy project managers who don’t have time to sync every single change manually. You can check if auto syncing is enabled on the Syncs page of the Unito dashboard. Auto sync is enabled if the toggle next to your sync is in the ‘right’ position, and you see a checkmark. Otherwise, if the toggle is in the ‘left’ position, then it is disabled.

The maximum number and speed of your auto syncs depend on the plan you are subscribed to, and are summarized below. For more information, have a look at our pricing page.

Personal Plan

  • 5 auto syncs
  • 10-minute sync

Team Plan

  • 15 auto syncs
  • 5-minute sync

Business Plan

  • 40 auto syncs
  • Live sync (no waiting!)

Business 2X Plan

  • 80 auto syncs
  • Live sync

Business 4X Plan

  • 160 auto syncs
  • Live sync

Enterprise Plan

  • Custom (contact us!)
  • Live sync

After exceeding the number of auto syncs that your plan allows, any additional syncs can only be performed manually. If you need more auto syncs, please reach out to us and we'll help you out!

Manual syncs

Also like the name suggests, manual syncs are those you execute on your own. To check whether your syncs are set to automatic or manual, you simply have to check the Syncs page of the Unito dashboard. If the toggle next to your sync is in the ‘left’ (manual) position, and you see an ‘x’ rather than a check mark, then it is in manual sync mode. Below, you can see that the “Github -> Jira Sync 1” sync has been toggled to manual sync.

Pressing the “Sync Now” button (pictured above) will immediately sync your projects/tools in that sync. While this button is available for both auto and manual syncs, if your sync is set to manual, this is the only way for your tools to update.

The number of manual syncs you can have is unlimited with any pricing plan. Starting syncs off in manual mode and seeing how often you need to sync them is a great way to determine whether you need to upgrade your plan for more auto syncs.

Manual syncs are also the default sync status for any project that uses features that are not included in your pricing plan. For example, if a user attempts to sync a subtask while using the Personal Plan, their sync will automatically be switched to manual. That user can upgrade to the Team Plan (or higher) in order to enable automatic syncing for that sync and others like it.

What's next?

Learn how to set up a one-way sync.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?