What this article covers:

  • What is a sync account?
  • The advantage of having a bot user as your sync account
  • How to set up a bot user as your sync account

What is a sync account?

When you first sign up to Mirror, the account you used to sign up will become the sync account. This means that your list of available boards to mirror will be boards that the sync account has access to.

It also means that the sync account will be designated as the source of any changes/comments synced. While this may be just fine for some folks, you are likely to get a better experience if you instead use Bot Users for the integration.

The advantage of having a bot user as your sync account

If Hannah sets up Mirror with her own personal account, this is how a comment from another user (Billie) would look when it is synced:

While it does specify who the comment was from within the comment itself, it is still attributed to Hannah, and this may cause some confusion.

With a Bot User, you remove this confusion because the comment owner is the neutral connector, making the rightful commenter more evident. We recommend using the name Mirror or Mirror Bot for your Bot Users just to make it more clear where it's coming from.

How to set up a bot user as your sync account

1. Create the bot user

Creating a Bot User in any of your favorite tools is pretty straightforward: you just create another user in Trello with a different email and give it access to the boards you want to sync.

Pro tip: If you're using Gmail, you don't have to create a new email address; you can just add a "+syncbot" at the end of your name (e.g. [email protected]) and it will count as a new address, while still receiving all emails.

Make sure the Bot User is an Admin of your team and a Board Admin in any of the Trello boards you want to sync. It will ensure all information is well synced.

2. Clear Power-Up board and organization data

You need to log in as the sync account — or as an admin on your Trello board — to access these settings.

3. Log into Trello as the bot user and authorize the Power-Up

After authorizing the Power Up using the bot account, this will then update the sync account to the bot account.

Any new mirrors made will now be associated with the bot account.

4. Switch old mirrors to the bot account

After making the above changes, only new mirrors will be associated with the bot. To switch the old mirrors to the bot account, follow the below steps:

  1. Open the Unito App and make sure you're logged in to your Trello account.
  2. Once logged in to Unito, log out from your personal user in Trello.
  3. Edit the Mirrors you would like to switch over:

From within the “Boards” tab, add your bot account to your Mirror for both boards.

Your Mirror will begin synchronizing with the new connector.

Note: You can only change a connector that has access to the synchronized board. If the Bot User is grayed out, some permissions are missing.

What's next?

Find out what information on a card will get mirrored.
Learn about mirroring custom fields.
Not a Unito user? Try Unito for two weeks free!
Already a user? Sign in here!

Did this answer your question?