Our integration for Google Contacts is live! Because it’s in beta, there are differences between it and other integrations you should know.
How does this beta work?
When an integration from our upcoming integrations page gets enough interest, we start working to add it to our suite. The first step to that process is working towards a beta version of the integration so you can get access to it earlier. That gives you the chance to send us your feedback and gives us the ability to tailor it so it better fits your use case.
Our Google Contacts integration is now in beta, meaning you can start using it in your workflows right now! That said, there are a few things about this integration that you should know about.
Supported fields and other features
Beta integrations don’t always support as many fields as other integrations. Here are the fields you can sync with our Google Contacts integration, along with which fields can be used in rules.
If this integration doesn’t support something your workflow needs, please reach out to us! Your feedback helps us build better integrations.
Limitations (and other things to keep in mind):
Because this integration is still in beta, there are some things you won’t be able to do yet.
Syncing multiple email addresses: If a contact has multiple email addresses assigned to it, Unito will only sync the first — or primary — email address.
Syncing multiple addresses: Unito will only sync the first address for contacts that have multiple addresses.
Two-way flows: Currently, you can only sync contacts *from* Google Contacts to other tools. That means you couldn't use Unito to create new contacts when a work item is created in another tool, for example. Note that you can still keep all information updated in both tools; you just can't automate contact creation with Unito.
Contact merging: This Unito feature keeps your Mailchimp contacts from getting duplicated as you sync them. Here's how it works.
Google Contacts permissions information
When you first connect your Google Contacts account to Unito, you might notice that Unito needs permission to permanently delete contacts. Don’t be alarmed! This permission is a requirement for this integration to work, but Unito never deletes your data. In fact, we have a very strict policy regarding content deletion. You can find the full policy here, but the essence of it is Unito will never delete data on the platform it originates from.
Say you sync your Google Contacts to Trello, where they become new Trello cards. If you delete, close, or archive a Trello card synced to a Google contact, the original contact will never be deleted. So even if Unito needs this permission to work properly, we will never delete your contacts.